TL;DR
Get beauty and skincare favorites delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Global Cosmetics News’ Week 41 review reports developments in acquisitions, manufacturing, international expansion, leadership and regulation. According to the review, Fairfax and Wittington Investments agreed to acquire Boots for about US$8.9 billion, while Unilever announced investments in solar power in Kenya and Vaseline production in South Africa. Several other developments, including a possible BASF-Evonik transaction and Utah’s acne-prescribing pilot, remain subject to further detail or implementation.
Global Cosmetics News’ Week 41 review reports a proposed US$8.9 billion acquisition of Boots, new Unilever manufacturing investments and further international expansion by Korean beauty companies. The developments span ownership, production capacity and market access, while possible corporate transactions and new regulatory initiatives remain at different stages of confirmation and implementation.
According to the review, Fairfax and Wittington Investments agreed to acquire Boots for approximately US$8.9 billion. It also reports that Christian Dior appointed two new board members ahead of a planned restructuring of the Arnault family’s controlling stake in LVMH. In Germany, the review says state officials raised concerns about employment and corporate independence following reports of a potential transaction between BASF and Evonik. Separately, it reports that L’Oréal appointed advisers to explore options for managing its US talc-related liabilities.
Manufacturing and supply chains featured prominently in the review. It says Unilever invested Sh70 million in solar power at its Kenyan manufacturing facility and committed R100 million to expand global Vaseline production capacity in South Africa. The review also says low river levels linked to El Niño disrupted Indonesian palm oil supply chains, creating logistical challenges for producers and exporters.
The review reports that Korean beauty companies continued to expand abroad. South Korea’s cosmetics exports reached a reported record US$7 billion in the first half of the year, and the government launched an overseas intellectual-property protection initiative for K-beauty brands. It also reports that Mary Kay introduced a K-beauty skincare collection in 40 markets; Amorepacific India created a premium division for Laneige and Sulwhasoo; and Dr.G expanded US distribution through TikTok Shop.
Ownership and Capacity in Focus
The developments reported in the weekly review show how cosmetics and personal care companies are responding to several business pressures at once: ownership changes, the need for production capacity, supply-chain disruption and competition for consumers in international markets. The Boots agreement is a major retail transaction, while Unilever’s Kenya and South Africa investments concern energy and product supply at manufacturing sites.
International expansion is another clear theme in the review. Korean brands are using new products, distribution channels and government-backed intellectual-property support to reach markets beyond South Korea. Those moves may broaden consumer choice and brand visibility, although the review does not provide sales figures or other evidence of commercial results for the initiatives.
The regulatory items covered in the review could affect how companies and creators operate. Utah’s pilot concerns AI-assisted acne prescribing under defined conditions, while Pakistan’s new tax rules affect social media content creators. The review does not specify the rules’ detailed requirements or their wider effects, so their practical impact cannot yet be assessed from this account.
Popular right now

Ninja CREAMi Scoop & Swirl 13-in-1 Ice Cream and Soft Serve Maker, NC701

Ninja Flip Toaster Oven and Air Fryer, 8-in-1, Stainless Steel, SP151

TCL T7 Series 85-Inch 4K 144Hz QLED Smart Google TV
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Week Across Beauty Markets
Global Cosmetics News’ source is a weekly industry review, not a single-company filing or a detailed account of one transaction. It groups developments from corporate activity and manufacturing through leadership, marketing, retail and regulation. Its central themes are ownership changes, production capacity and access to new consumers.
According to the review, leadership changes included Estée Lauder appointing Gaétane Baudry Global General Manager of Bobbi Brown, while communications chief Meridith Webster stepped down. It also reports that Scent Beauty named former L’Oréal executive Yoana Land chief financial officer; Parfums Christian Dior appointed Sophie Gilg general counsel; and Coty named Kara Langan general manager of US Consumer Beauty. The review says L’Oréal Morocco appointed Gilles Delaunay managing director as Laila Benjelloun Touimi became chairwoman.
The review also reports that companies pursued partnerships and new retail concepts. L’Oréal expanded sports and entertainment marketing through partnerships with Paris Saint-Germain and Plénitude Arena. P&G partnered with the McLaren Formula 1 Team to promote brands including Head & Shoulders and Oral-B across Asia Pacific, and H&M Beauty named Sharvari its first brand ambassador in India. Birkenstock entered India’s personal care market with Care Essentials, while Dua Lipa and Augustinus Bader opened a permanent Dua boutique in Paris.
Deal Terms and Policy Details
Global Cosmetics News’ review does not give a completion date, financing structure or regulatory conditions for the Boots acquisition agreement. It also does not state whether the reported BASF-Evonik transaction advanced beyond a potential deal or detail the concerns raised by German state officials. The source describes L’Oréal’s talc-liability work as an exploration of options, not a final decision.
For the other developments, the review does not provide project timelines for Unilever’s investments, quantify the disruption to Indonesian palm oil shipments or set out the full criteria for Utah’s pilot. It gives no specific implementation guidance for Pakistan’s tax rules. Further reporting would be needed to establish how these developments progress and what effects they have on businesses, workers, suppliers or consumers.
Milestones to Watch
Attention will turn to whether the Boots agreement proceeds through the required transaction process and whether further terms or timing are disclosed. Updates will also be needed to clarify the status of any BASF-Evonik discussions and the choices L’Oréal makes regarding its US talc-related liabilities.
For manufacturing, subsequent reporting may clarify when Unilever’s solar and Vaseline capacity projects will be completed and whether Indonesian supply-chain conditions improve. The review provides no rollout timetable for Utah’s pilot or detailed compliance steps for Pakistan’s tax changes. The next useful signals will be formal company, government or programme updates that specify implementation, scope and results.
Key Questions
What was the main development in the Week 41 review?
Global Cosmetics News’ review reports that Fairfax and Wittington Investments agreed to acquire Boots for approximately US$8.9 billion, alongside developments in manufacturing, international expansion and regulation.
What investments did Unilever announce?
According to the review, Unilever invested Sh70 million in solar power at its Kenyan manufacturing facility and committed R100 million to expand global Vaseline production capacity in South Africa.
How did Korean beauty businesses expand internationally?
The review reports new activity including Mary Kay’s K-beauty collection in 40 markets, Amorepacific India’s premium division for Laneige and Sulwhasoo, and Dr.G’s expanded US distribution through TikTok Shop. It also cites South Korean cosmetics exports of US$7 billion in the first half of the year.
What remains uncertain about the reported corporate deals?
Global Cosmetics News’ review does not provide Boots’ transaction timetable or completion conditions, nor does it confirm that a BASF-Evonik transaction has been agreed. The status and terms of those developments require further updates.
Source: rss
